DUI Charges in Mesa
Driving under the influence in Mesa is another serious criminal charge in Mesa. Recall that it is unlawful to operate a motor vehicle while the driver has a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08% or more or is under the influence of drugs or alcohol that causes them even the slightest impairment. In fact, a driver can even be charged with DUI if they are not driving the car; merely being in "actual physical control" of a car while under the influence, whether or not the car is in motion, can constitute an actual-physical-control DUI. For example, an intoxicated person who is in the driver’s seat while the car is parked and running or while the headlights are on could signal actual-physical-control violations.
The penalties for DUI depend on the situation, such as the driver’s exact BAC and prior convictions. Individuals convicted of “per se” DUI (BAC of .08%-.149%) could incur the following penalties:
- 1st offense: minimum 10 days in jail; at least $1,480 in fines; 90-day license suspension; 1-year mandatory use of ignition interlock device (IID)
- 2nd offense: minimum 90 days in jail; at least $3,000 in fines; 1-year license suspension; 1-year mandatory use of IID
Additionally, individuals who refuse to submit to a blood or breath test under Arizona’s implied consent laws could face a 1-year license suspension for a first offense and a 2-year suspension for a second and subsequent offense.
Be aware that the minimum jail time and fines will increase for those with an extreme BAC (.15%-.199%). Visit our page on DUI/DWI to learn more.
There are a couple of specific types of sex crimes that are severely punished in Mesa. For one, a person can face charges for sexual assault, or rape, if they intentionally or knowingly engage in sexual intercourse or oral sexual contact with any person without their consent. Sexual assault in Arizona can include any of the following:
- sexual penetration of the vulva, penis, or anus using anything;
- oral sexual contact, including verbal threats, fear, or intimidation.
Another serious sex-related offense is sexual abuse. Sexual abuse is when an individual intentionally or knowingly engages in sexual contact:
- with any person who is 15 or more years of age without the consent of that person; or
- with any person who is under 15 years of age if the sexual contact involves only the female breast.
The penalties for sex offenses depend on the defendant’s criminal history, the age of the alleged victim, and whether the defendant knowingly inflicted physical harm:
- Sexual assault (first offense) – at least 5.25 years of incarceration
- Sexual assault with 2 or more prior felony sexual assault convictions – up to 28 years in jail
- Sexual assault involving the intentional infliction of serious physical injury – 25 years to life imprisonment
- Sexual abuse – Class 5 felony with 0.5-2.5 years of incarceration
- Sexual abuse of a person under 15 years old – Class 3 felony with 13-27 years’ imprisonment
Get Started on Your Mesa Defense Immediately
If you are facing criminal charges in Mesa, Arizona, let the Law Office of Phil Hineman, P.C. defend you. Attorney Phil Hineman has over 30 years of legal experience and has handled more than 10,000 criminal cases, including jury trials. He takes a results-driven approach to criminal defense and will examine every single detail of your situation to build an airtight defense for you in court and exert pressure on the opposing side until the case closes. Whether you seek legal support against drug charges, DUI offenses, or sex crime accusations, the Law Office of Phil Hineman, P.C. can defend you.