DUI Attorney in Payson and Yuma, AZ Battles for Your Rights
Get experienced defense from a former DUI prosecutor
Arizona’s drunk driving laws are not particularly forgiving. Even if this is your first brush with the law, a conviction could mean much more than a suspended or revoked license. You could have to spend as much as 188 days in jail (this is for a misdemeanor crime). You need to fight these charges to prevent serious repercussions. The Law Offices of Phil Hineman, P.C. can help.
By choosing our law firm, you put more than 25 years of experience to work for you. Perhaps more importantly, your case will be handled by an attorney who has served as a DUI prosecutor. That offers you a distinct advantage: we know how the other side works because we have stood in their shoes. We have seen their methods in action, so we know the ways that those methods can be overcome. We use that knowledge to defend you against the DUI charges you are facing.
DWI, DUI, Extreme DUI, and Aggravated DUI in Arizona
The term DUI is used generally to cover all incidents of drunk driving, but there are actually two basic ways authorities can charge a driver: DWI, driving while intoxicated, and DUI, driving under the influence. Both are criminal charges, and both apply to alcohol, but only DUI can be charged for a drug other than alcohol.
The threshold for a standard DWI is 0.08 percent blood alcohol content, or BAC, for most drivers, but 0.02 percent for commercial vehicle operators. A minor under age 21 cannot have any alcohol in his system while driving. DUI gives the authorities more leeway to make a drunk driving charge because it doesn’t depend on a rigid analysis of your BAC. Authorities can charge a DUI if your consumption of alcohol or drugs has impaired your driving. Therefore, you can be charged with DUI on the basis of having taken a drink and a police officer’s observation of careless, sloppy, or reckless driving. Police also consider any physical and mental symptoms of impairment, and verbal admissions.
A first DWI/DUI offense comes with a fine of at least $250, between 24 hours and 10 days in jail, a license suspension of 90 to 360 days, and a requirement to install an ignition interlock device on your car. Fines, jail time, and the length of the license suspension increase for subsequent convictions. However, if you are pulled over for drunk driving, you could face even more intense charges, depending on the situation:
- Extreme DWI — If you are caught with a BAC of over 0.15 percent, you could be charged with extreme DWI. The penalties are much more severe than those for a traditional DWI.
- Super extreme DWI — This charge applies to those driving with BAC of 0.20 percent or greater.
- Aggravated DUI — If you are accused of drunk driving while your license is suspended or revoked, you could face this felony charge. A conviction will have a serious impact on your life. This can also be charged in certain cases of repeat DUI offenses.
It is important to know that Arizona has an implied consent law. If you are lawfully arrested by an officer who has reasonable grounds to believe you have been driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs, you must submit to a chemical test of blood, breath, or urine. If you refuse, your driver license is automatically suspended for a year.
Contact our Yuma DUI defense attorney for a free consultation and fast action
Only trust your DUI case to an experienced defense lawyer. Call the Law Offices of Phil Hineman, P.C. at 928-257-1155 or contact us online immediately to schedule a free consultation. You can rest assured we will act quickly to provide the aggressive DUI defense you require.